Award Winners – Children & Young Adult

Here are some awards given to books and other media. For the winners, click the award heading. Check our catalog for materials or ask a Southfield librarian about placing that item on hold for you. You can also check the Michigan eLibrary to place items on hold from other libraries.

Alex Awards
This award recognizes books that are written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18.

Coretta Scott King Awards
The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

Newbery Award
The John Newbery Medal is a literary award given by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.

Stonewall Book Awards
The first award for LGBTQIA+ books with categories for literature, non-fiction, and children’s and young adult literature.

Sydney Taylor Book Award
Presented to outstanding books for children and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience.

chat loading...
Scroll to Top