Award Winners – Adults

Here are some awards given to books and other media from the year 2012 onward. Each list will feature the books that are listed in the Southfield Public Library Catalog. For the other winners and older years, head on over the award’s website. Also for items that are not in the catalog, ask a Southfield librarian about placing that item on hold for you (give us a call or come visit us!), you can also take a look at the Michigan eLibrary to place items on hold from other libraries.

Audie Awards
(The Audio Book of the Year recognizes a title with high-quality content and production values that stands as a benchmark of excellence for the industry.)


The Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA) Awards
(The awards recognize excellence in adult fiction and nonfiction by African American authors, including an award for Best Poetry and a citation for Outstanding Contribution to Publishing.)


Caldecott Awards
(The Randolph Caldecott Medal annually recognizes the preceding year’s “most distinguished American picture book for children”, beginning with 1937 publications. It is awarded to the illustrator by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association.)


Center for the Study of Multicultural Children’s Literature
(Each year, a select diverse committee of experts from the Center for the Study of Multicultural Children’s Literature (CSMCL) identifies the best in multicultural books. The mission of the CSMCL is to provide children, teachers, parents, educators, students, and librarians access to multicultural children’s books with high literary and artistic standards.)


Coretta Scott King Awards
(The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.)


Edgar Awards
(Mystery Writers of America honor the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television.)


Hugo Awards
(The Hugo Awards, presented annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (“Worldcon”), which is also responsible for administering them. See Hugo Award Categories for a more detailed discussion of the categories.)


James Beard Book Awards
(The James Beard Foundation Awards are annual awards presented by the James Beard Foundation for excellence in cuisine, culinary writing, and culinary education in the United States.)


Man Booker Prize
(The Man Booker Prize for Fiction is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel, written in the English language and published in the UK. A high-profile literary award in British culture, the Booker Prize is greeted with great anticipation and fanfare. It is also a mark of distinction for authors to be selected for inclusion in the shortlist or even to be nominated for the “longlist”.)


Michigan Notable Awards
(Every year, the Library of Michigan selects up to twenty of the most notable books, either written by a Michigan resident or about Michigan or the Great Lakes.)


Newbery Award
(The John Newbery Medal is a literary award given by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.)



PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction
(The PEN/Faulkner Award honors the best work of fiction published by an American in a single calendar year.)


Pulitzer Prize
(Honoring excellence in journalism and the arts since 1917. Take a look here for the various categories that can be won.)


YALSA Teens’ Top 10
(The Teens’ Top Ten is a “teen choice” list, where teens nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year!)

chat loading...
Scroll to Top